Sentence transformation, 7

Complete the second sentence so that it has a similar meaning to the first sentence, using phrasal verbs and other words in your answer. Do not change the word given. You must use between two and five words, including the word given. There is an example at the beginning (0).

0 Terrorists tried to destroy the bridge using dynamite.
blow

Terrorists tried to blow up the bridge.

1 He went to Spain to try to speak Spanish better.
brush

He went to Spain ________________ Spanish

2 Is she Australian?

come

___________________Australia?

3 Ask Paul to do it. You can rely on him.
let

Ask Paul to do it. He __________________

4 It’s a very formal dinner party.
dress

We are expected ___________for the dinner party.

5 An ankle injury prevented her from taking part in the race.
drop

She had to _______the race because of an ankle injury.

6 It was nearly midnight when John arrived.
turn

John _______________until nearly midnight.

7 I’m not very confident of passing my driving test.
get

I don’t ________________my driving test

8 The meeting went on until 11.30
break

The meeting _______________ until 11.30

9 Unless business improves soon, we’ll be bankrupt by the    end of the year.
pick

If business _______soon, we’ll be bankrupt by the end of the year.

10 The last time my rent rose was three years ago.
put

They haven’t _______________ for three years.

11 You will support me at the meeting, won’t you?
back

You will _______________at the meeting, won’t you?

12 This form must be completed before you leave.
fill

You ____________this form before you leave.

13 I don’t think I’ll go out on Saturday.
stay

I think _______________ on Saturday.

14 Unless it stops raining soon, we’ll have to cancel the      picnic.
clear

If it _______________soon we’ll have to cancel the picnic.

15 I don’t smoke as many cigarettes as I used to.
cut

I’ve managed to _________cigarettes I smoke.

Click here to know the right answers

Leave a Reply

